Floyd Mayweather Jr. wins BWAA ‘Fighter of the Year’

Floyd Mayweather
Photo Credit: Jayne Kamin-Oncea, USA TODAY Sports

The Boxing Writers Association of America has awarded Floyd Mayweather Jr. (49-0, 26 KOs) the Sugar Ray Robinson 2015 Fighter of the Year award for the third time.

Mayweather, who previously won the award in 2007 and 2013, now holds three BWAA Fighter of the Year awards which place him in an elite club whose members include Muhammad Ali, Joe Frazier, Sugar Ray Leonard, Evander Holyfield and Manny Pacquiao.

Mayweather fought twice in 2015, snatching Manny Pacquiao’s WBO welterweight belt in the biggest boxing event of all time in May before outpointing Andre Berto in September.

Francisco Vargas vs. Takashi Miura won the Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year award for their enthralling contest in which Vargas came back from the brink to overcome Miura and take his WBC crown.

Former finalist, Abel Sanchez, who runs the Summit Gym at Big Bear Lake in California, claimed the Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year for the first time.

Other 2015 award winners include:

  • Lou DiBella (James A. Farley Award For Honesty and Integrity)
  • Al Haymon (Cus D’Amato Manager of the Year)
  • William Gildea (Nat Fleischer Award Excellence in Boxing Journalism)
  • Marc Payton & Mark Taffet (Sam Taub broadcast award)
  • Bernard Fernandez (Barney Nagler Long and Meritorious Service award)
  • Tom Casino (Bill Crawford Courage in Overcoming Adversity award)
  • Don Chargin (Marvin Kohn Good Guy award champ)
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts